by InTrieste
The two protests lodged by EWOL – Way of Life against Arca and Furio Benussi have been rejected. The first one referred to the sail left at sea during the first part of the Barcolana 54 presented by Generali, while the second one concerned rule 69 (serious misconduct).
As far as the first protest is concerned, the International Jury declared the protest invalid, since the protestor had not informed Arca of its intentions at the first reasonable opportunity, as set out in the Racing Rules of Sailing. Therefore, judges did not further analyse the protest, which referred to rule 41 and rule 47 (competitors should not put trash in the water nor receive help from any outside source during the regatta). As far as the protest referring to rule 69 (serious misconduct) is concerned, the International Jury claimed to have insufficient evidence to sanction the behaviour of skipper Furio Benussi towards a member of the Ewol team.
Therefore, Arca remains in second place, leaving the Barcolana’s classification unchanged.